Austin Marathon: T-10 Weeks Recap

Back to it! Had a great week of running. Almost 40 miles on the week and ending with the Decker Challenge.

I started with two shorter runs on Monday and Tuesday evening. I should have made at least one of them a 6+ miler, but I was just trying to make sure I got myself in a good groove for the week so I didn’t want to push it:

I almost didn’t go on Wednesday. But I got some late evening inspiration and went out for more than 8:

Rounded out the week with a nice Friday evening run before taking Saturday off before Decker:

Race day was pretty awesome. I went into it expecting nothing: just planning on treating it like a training run. That’s because it’s notoriously hilly, the weather was supposed to be (and was!) really humid and muggy, and I had been training all week (as opposed to tapering for the race). I was really pleasantly surprised with the outcome:

Nothing like setting a Half Marathon PR on a tough course on a less-than-ideal weather day. I felt great all day and ran negative splits (faster second half–7:15 min/miles–than first half–7:37 min/miles).

I started with the 1:40:00 pace group, figuring I’d drop off the back after a while (my previous PR was 1:41:17, so I wasn’t expecting to hang with them the whole time). But since I was feeling good, I decided to move in front of them to avoid the tight clustering in the pack… I ended up dropping them and getting a 4 minute PR: 1:37:17 official chip time.

Makes me feel much more confident for the marathon!

Here are the results highlights: 54th of 1032 Overall, 6th of 47 in Age Group (M 25-29), 52nd of 501 in Gender. Not a bad day.

Leave a Reply

